Mama don’t go, Daddy come home.


John Lennon

Cover of John Lennon

Most of us live our lives carrying some sort of pain or other in our hearts. Let it be financial struggles, complications in relationships, lost opportunities etc.

Steve jobs also spent most part of his life feeling saddened by the fact that, his biological parents have abandoned him and he was unwanted. That caused a lot of pain to him and he was deeply angry about that fact.

His visit to India in search of meaning and “Moksha” were result of this only pain which he carried in his life for his lifetime. But after reading considerably about Steve Jobs, I strongly believe that his creativity, out-of-the-box thinking and all his unique styles of doing anything were greatly harnessed by all experiments he did during his spiritual quest. He tried to practice different types of meditations, healing techniques, vegetarian diet, fasting, primal scream therapy etc. and his personality got transformed bit-by-bit. Steve tried healing by listening to different types of songs/music, one of his favorite singer/songwriter was John Lennon.

John Lennon too carried same pain throughout his life which Steve jobs had, john lennon’s  father had abandoned him and his mother, when he was small child and his mother had been killed when he was a teenager. He had undergone the same primal scream therapy which Steve jobs underwent. And in December 1970, he released the song “Mother” with the Plastic Ono Band. song dealt with Lennon’s own feelings about his parents. The refrain includes the haunting chant “Mama don’t go, Daddy come home.” Jobs used to play the song whenever he felt saddened by being abandoned.

Here is a lyrics of the song

Mother:

Mother, you had me but I never had you,
I wanted you but you didn’t want me,
So I got to tell you,
Goodbye, goodbye.
Farther, you left me but I never left you,
I needed you but you didn’t need me,
So I got to tell you,
Goodbye, goodbye.
Children, don’t do what I have done,
I couldn’t walk and I tried to run,
So I got to tell you,
Goodbye, goodbye.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home…

John Lennon Music on Flipkart

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

